All You Need is Love

The Heart Chakra
Everything You Need to Know About the Fourth Chakra

Maybe you’ve heard about chakras, the seven wheels of energy in the body that start at the crown of the head, and travel down the body to the base of the spine. When spinning properly, each chakra allows Qi (energy) to flow through the body. If these wheel of energy become blocked by stress, anxiety or emotional upheaval, your well-being can suffer.

Did you know that the anahata chakra is the most influential energy center out of the 7 chakras? In Sanskrit, “anahata” means unhurt, unstruck and unbeaten. It serves as our center of LOVE for oneself and others and is associated with unconditional love, compassion, and joy.

Location of the Fourth Chakra

Do you know where it is located? You got it- it is located in the region of the heart, in the center of the chest.

Color associated with the Heart Chakra

The color of Anahata Chakra is green. The color green symbolizes health, prosperity and abundance with this chakra.

Signs of a Blocked Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra is in balance, you’ll feel joy, gratitude, love, and compassion for those around you. But if the heart chakra becomes blocked, you’ll notice the opposite, both physically, and mentally. Here are a few signs the heart chakra is out of balance:

  • Asthma
  • Physical symptoms such as heart palpitations, chest pain, poor circulation, heart conditions, high/low blood pressure
  • Arm and wrist pain
  • Over-loving to the point of suffocation, jealousy, and bitterness
  • Constant fear of being alone
  • Balancing and Opening the Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra opens, you’ll feel an abundance of empathy, compassion, and love. This translates not just towards others but also to oneself. A person with an open heart chakra develops trust in themself and respects others. However, when the heart chakra is out of alignment, a number of issues can arise. One might feel brokenhearted, unhappy, easily hurt, insecure, lonely, or unable to receive love. One might choose to lead with the head and not the heart, to grow distant from others and put up walls, or shut down emotionally, or hold onto resentment or bitterness. So, what can we do to help bring this chakra into alignment? Here are a few tips!


Exercise in general can play an important role in developing a healthy sense of self-love, as well. Our bodies are our greatest gifts, and the more we respect, honor, and take care of it, the healthier our heart chakras will be overall!


Let’s breathe! Even something simple as deep breathing can bring peace and calm to the heart and remove stuck or negative energy from the heart chakra. Join me in this alternate nostril breathing technique (Nadi Shodhana Pranayama) to expand yourself with love, strengthen your lungs, and ease and calm the mind.


Mediation is a great tool for balancing the chakras! Come as you are-no experience necessary. Join me in this Meditation, designed to serve all! This 8 MINUTE session is here for YOU when you need better focus & concentration, improved self-awareness & self-esteem, lower levels of stress & anxiety, and fostering kindness. So carve out a little time for you! Bonus points if you put on some green & perhaps even practice while outside in nature sitting on some green grass. Join me in this Meditation, designed to serve all!


As always, I love yoga for bringing the chakras into alignment! Let’s build cardiovascular health in this Yoga for the Heart class that is guaranteed to get your heart a pumping!

And remember – “Love, Love, Love. All you need is love. Love is all you need.” – John Lennon

Trending Posts

We ❤️ our community.
Let’s go back to the basics of good health.

Join our FREE monthly newsletter
Get TWO of our virtual classes today!